Alumni Achievements


Alumni Achievements

Once again, our Edwards alumni have been getting noticed. Graduates of our programs win awards and are appointed to leadership positions around the country. Here are just a few of this past year’s alumni successes:

Mr. Gordon Rawlinson (B.Comm. 1968) was awarded a Doctor of Laws (Honourary) from the University of Regina.

Mr. Jack Neumann (B.Comm. 1969) was inducted into the Canada West Hall of Fame.

Ms. Shelley Brown C.M., FCPA, FCA (B.Comm. 1978) became a member of the Order of Canada and received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Chartered Professional Accountants of British Columbia.

Mr. Brian Towriss (B.Comm. 1978) was awarded the 2019 Jean-Marie De Koninck Coaching Excellence Award.

Mr. Peter Haukedal (B.Comm. 1982) was named the Director of Asterion Cannabis Inc.

Mr. Grant Kook S.O.M., C.Dir. (B.Comm. 1985) was the recipient of the 2018 ABEX Business Leader of the Year Award.

Ms. Shelley Willick (B.Comm. 1989) was appointed President and CEO of Saskatchewan Mutual Insurance Company.

Ms. Lisa Laskowski (B.Comm. 1990) was appointed Director of Development and Chief Development Officer at Remai Modern.

Ms. Melinda Park (B.Comm. 1991) was appointed Chair of the Board of Governors for the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT).

Ms. Sandra Gillies (B.Comm. 1993, M.Sc. 1996) was acclaimed to the University of Saskatchewan Senate representing District 12.

Mr. Ian Sutherland (MBA 1997) was recognized by the Saskatoon Community Foundation for his service as a member of the Board of Directors from 2011-2018.

Mr. Clint Warkentin (B.Comm. 1998) was appointed Chief Financial Officer of Certarus Ltd.

Ms. Nathalie Johnstone (B.Comm. 1999, MPAcc 2000) was awarded the Provost's College Award for Outstanding Teaching.

Ms. Cara Keating (B.Comm. 1999) was appointed President of PepsiCo Foods Canada.

Ms. Jennifer Bain (B.Comm. 2000) received the AFP Saskatoon Chapter Honoured Supporter Award.

Ms. Andrea Hansen (B.Comm. 2000) received the Kent Smith-Windsor Leadership Award at the 2019 Raj Manek Mentorship Awards.

Ms. Barbara Gustafson (MBA 2001) was elected to the University of Saskatchewan Senate for District 11.

Ms. Brooke Klassen (B.Comm. 2003, MBA 2011) was appointed Assistant Professor in the Department of Management and Marketing at the Edwards School of Business.

Mrs. Erica Smith, CPA, CA (B.Comm. 2003) received the KBH Facilitator Award from CPA Western School of Business.

Ms. CeCe Baptiste, CPA, CMA (B.Comm. 2004, CIBA 2002) was appointed Acting Vice President, Finance at Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies, and elected to the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

Ms. Kimberly Bryce (MBA 2004) was appointed Chief Science Officer of Mother Labs.

Mr. Nathan Glubish (B.Comm. 2004) was elected to the Government of Alberta as Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) - Strathcona-Sherwood Park constituency.

Ms. Ashala Jacobson (B.Comm. 2004, MBA 2011) was appointed Senior Director, College Development at the University of Saskatchewan.

Mr. Theo Gonari, CPA, CA (B.Comm. 2007) was named partner at Virtus Group LLP.

Mr. Mark Thompson (B.Comm. 2007) was appointed Executive Vice President and Chief Corporate Development & Strategy Officer of Nutrien.

Ms. LaVina Watts (BUSADM 2008) received the College of Arts & Science Dean's Distinguished Staff Award.

Mr. Nathan Risling (B.Comm. 2008, MBA 2018) was named Director, Strategy at Saskatchewan Polytechnic.

Mrs. Jacqueline Zabolotney (B.Comm. 2008, MBA 2014) was named Director of Undergraduate & Certificate Programs at the Edwards School of Business.

Mr. Vincent Bruni-Bossio (MBA 2010) was awarded the Master Teacher Award.

Mr. Ricky Forbes (B.Comm. 2010) was named a CBC Saskatchewan Future 40 winner for 2018.

Ms. Stephanie Hughes (MBA 2010) was named Vice President at DCG Philanthropic Services Inc.

Ms. Stephanie Yong (MBA 2010) was named a CBC Saskatchewan Future 40 winner for 2018.

Mr. Yang Chen (MBA 2012) was named a CBC Saskatchewan Future 40 winner for 2018.

Mr. Cole Thorpe (B.Comm. 2014) was named a CBC Saskatchewan Future 40 winner for 2018.

Mr. Kaili Xu (MBA 2014) was named Director of the Trico Foundation Social Entrepreneurship Centre at Haskayne School of Business and Director of Student Success at Haskayne School of Business.

Mr. Nolan Proctor, CPA (MPAcc 2016) co-founded and was named partner at Grassland Group, Chartered Professional Accountants.

Ms. Jocelyn Rodgers, CPA (MPAcc 2016) co-founded and was named partner at Grassland Group, Chartered Professional Accountants.

Mr. Colton Wiegers (B.Comm. 2016) received the Volunteer of the Year Award from Big Brothers Big Sisters – Saskatoon and Area.

Ms. Kendra Wack (MBA 2017) was named Managing Partner at Unity Dental.

Mr. Lincoln Lu (M.Sc. Marketing 2018) was accepted into the Advertising PhD program at the University of Florida, College of Journalism and Communications.

Ms. Nicole Matsalla (B.Comm. 2018) was named one of Future Good’s 21 Canadian Youth Reshaping Governance for 2019. She also received the UCC National Youth Leadership Award of Excellence.

Mr. Cameron Choquette, PSGov (B.Comm. 2019) was appointed Executive Officer of the Saskatchewan Landlord Association. He was also named one of Future Good’s 21 Youth Reshaping Governance in 2019.

Ms. Kelsey Murphy (B.Comm. 2019) was named Executive Director of the Princess Shop.

For more alumni achievements, visit Do you have a success story to share? Contact us at